LPI logo

Meeting Planning Services

Travel Awards

LEAG Bernard Ray Hawke Next Lunar Generation Career Development Awards, sponsored by SSERVI

Dr. B. Ray Hawke (1946–2015) of the University of Hawaii was a pillar of the lunar exploration community. Dr. Hawke did pioneering work integrating results from Apollo samples with remote sensing results and, more recently, was a valuable member of the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter science team. As a peerless educator, Dr. Hawke taught and mentored students at the University of Hawaii and around the world. Dr. Hawke was a fearless advocate for lunar exploration and worked tirelessly to promote lunar industrial development and the establishment of a permanent lunar surface outpost.

The prestigious LEAG Bernard Ray Hawke Next Lunar Generation Career Development Award, sponsored by SSERVI, honors his legacy of scientific achievement, exploration advocacy, and mentorship by providing travel support for up to three outstanding early career researchers to attend the annual LEAG meeting, and in so doing, help these early career researchers grow even more as productive members of the lunar exploration community.

2019 Annual LEAG meeting recipients:

Amanda Staderman, University of Arizona
Deanna Phillips, University of Alabama, Huntsville
Daoru Han, Missouri University Science and Technology

Larry Taylor Travel Fund
Prof. Lawrence (Larry) A. Taylor (1938-2017) of the University of Tennessee was a prolific scientist working on the Earth’s mantle, meteorites, and predominantly our Moon. With at least 540 peer-reviewed journal publications, Larry was a force to be reckoned with in his subject matter and also in life! He was passionate about finding the correct lunar simulates for engineering studies to get the United States back to the Moon, this time to stay. This work culminated the award of the NASA SSERVI Wargo Award in 2017 for his contributions to planetary science and exploration. Larry was also passionate about training the next generation, and throughout his career, he mentored over 50 post-doctoral scholars, numerous graduate students, and taught many undergraduates. In his honor, the Larry Taylor Travel Fund has been established for students only (undergraduate and graduate) to continue the inspiration of the next generation.

2019 Annual LEAG meeting recipients:

Ariel Deutsch, Brown University
Claire Thomas, Colorado School of Mines
Morgan Shusterman, Arizona State University
Stu Webb, University of Notre Dame
Ryan Galinkin, University of Central Florida

Note: All electronic submission forms are part of the Meeting Portal, which requires users to set up a personal profile to access our electronic forms (setting up a profile is quick and easy, requiring only a few minutes of your time).