The Space Astrophysics Landscape for the 2020s and Beyond banner

Save the Date

The Space Astrophysics Landscape for the 2020s and Beyond

April 1–3, 2019
Potomac, Maryland
William F. Bolger Center


A three-day symposium, sponsored by the Universities Space Research Association (USRA) entitled The Space Astrophysics Landscape for the 2020s and Beyond, is scheduled for April 1–3, 2019.

The purpose of this symposium is to provide the astrophysics community with a forum to hear and discuss science priorities, mission concepts, and enabling capabilities expected to be assessed by the upcoming Astro2020 Decadal Survey by the National Academies.


  • Science priorities and themes for the next decade and beyond (with a 20-year horizon)
  • Results from the four NASA-funded large mission concept studies (HabEx, LUVOIR, Lynx, and Origins Space Telescope), as well as other possible large (>$1B) mission concepts
  • Concepts for medium-sized Probe-class missions (larger than Explorers and <$1B)
  • Relevant ground-based facilities and science goals (e.g., Multi-Messenger activities)
  • Major international missions currently planned for the same time frame
  • Updates on current missions expected to be operational in the next decade
  • Relevant major enabling capabilities including in-space assembly, satellite servicing, new NASA heavy lift and commercial launch vehicles, and exploration planning for lunar return and Mars
  • Possible commercial partnerships
  • Program balance considerations

To be added to the mailing list to receive reminders and other pertinent information related to the symposium, please submit an Indication of Interest.


Harley Thronson, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Nicholas E. White, Universities Space Research Association

Science Organizing Committee

Joel Bregman, University of Michigan
Jack Burns, University of Colorado
John Conklin, University of Florida
Scott Gaudi, Ohio State University
Richard Green, National Science Foundation
Matt Greenhouse, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Daryl Haggard, McGill University
Christine Jones, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Vicky Kalogera, Northwestern University
Vicky Kaspi, McGill University
Chryssa Kouveliotou, George Washington University
James Lancaster, The National Academies
David Leisawitz, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Victoria Meadows, University of Washington
Margaret Meixner, Space Telescope Science Institute
Feryal Ozel, University of Arizona
Bradley Peterson, Ohio State University/Space Telescope Science Institute
Paul Scowen, Arizona State University
Eun-Suk Seo, University of Maryland
Michael Shull, University of Colorado
Daniel Stern, Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology
Lisa Storrie-Lombardi, Jet Propulsion Laboratory/California Institute of Technology
Jason Tumlinson, Space Telescope Science Institute

Note: All electronic submission forms are part of the Meeting Portal, which requires users to set up a personal profile to access our electronic forms (setting up a profile is quick and easy, requiring only a few minutes of your time).