Tuesday, July 30, 2013 AWARDS CEREMONY 5:00 p.m. Alberta Ballroom Salon A

Chairs: Monica Grady (President)

Michael Zolensky (Vice-President)

5:00 p.m. Leonard Medal

The Leonard Medal is given to individuals who have made outstanding original contributions to the science of meteoritics or closely allied fields. Ahmed El Goresy will receive the Leonard Medal for 2013 for his many contributions to improving our understanding of the mineralogy and petrology of chondrites and shocked meteorites.

Citation: Catherine Caillet and Audrey Bouvier Recipient: Ahmed El Goresy

5:15 p.m. Barringer Medal

The Barringer Medal is given for outstanding work in the field of impact cratering. Walter Alvarez will be recognized for his pivotal role in the discovery that the global K-Pg layer was produced by a large meteorite impact, and for linking this impact to the K-Pg mass extinction.

Citation: Christian Koeberl Recipient: Walter Alvarez

5:30 p.m. Nier Prize

The Nier Prize is given for significant research in the field of meteoritics and closely related fields by a young scientist under the age of 35. The 2013 Nier Prize will be awarded to Audrey Bouvier for significant contributions to understanding the isotopic compositions of Solar System materials and the timescales of their formation

Citation: Mini Wadhwa Recipient: Audrey Bouvier

5:45 p.m. Service Award

This award honors members who have advanced the goals of the society to promote research and education in meteoritics and planetary science in ways other than by conducting scientific research. The 2013 Service Award will be given to Jeffrey Grossman for his role in creating the Meteoritical Bulletin Database and an on-line submission and voting system for the Meteorite Nomenclature Committee, and for his service as Editor of the Meteoritical Bulletin

Citation: Michael Weisberg Recipient: Jeffrey Grossman 6.00 p.m. Student Awards

Pellas-Ryder Award

The Graham Ryder-Paul Pellas Award for 2012 is given in 2013 for the best paper published in 2012 by a student in planetary sciences. The award for 2012 will go to Christoph Burkhardt for the paper by C. Burkhardt, T. Kleine, N. Dauphas, and R. Wieler (2012) entitled "Origin of Isotopic Heterogeneity in the Solar Nebula by Thermal Processing and Mixing of Nebular Dust," which was published in *Earth and Planetary Science Letters*, **357**, 298–307.

Pellas-Ryder Award Recipient: Christoph Burkhardt

McKay Award

The Gordon McKay Award for 2012 is given in 2013 for the best oral presentation by a student at the Annual Meeting of the Society in 2012. The award for 2012 will go to Maartje Hamers for the presentation "Shocked Quartz in the SEM: Distinction between Amorphous and Healed PDFs."

Recipient: Maartje Hamers

Brian Mason Travel Award

The Brian Mason Travel Award is supported by the International Meteorite Collectors Association and is given to students who are first authors on an abstract submitted for the annual meeting and who agree to write a popular article for Meteorite magazine by December after the meeting. The award for 2013 is given to Jinping Hu for the abstract, "The Shock Metamorphism in L Chondrites Above Shock Stage S6."

Recipient: Jinping Hu