Press Information

LPSC Press Contact:
Julie Tygielski
Lunar and Planetary Institute
#LPSC2017
@LPItoday
https://www.facebook.com/LunarandPlanetaryInstitute
Phone:  281-486-2122
E-mail:  tygielski@lpi.usra.edu

Members of the working press and news media are invited to attend the 48th Lunar and Planetary Science Conference at the The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, The Woodlands, Texas, on March 20–24, 2017.

This annual conference brings together nearly 2000 international specialists in petrology, geochemistry, geophysics, geology, and astronomy to present the latest results of research in planetary science. This is the premiere conference for planetary scientists, and has been a significant focal point for planetary science research since its beginning in 1970, when it was known as the Apollo 11 Lunar Science Conference.

LPSC Livestream Coverage

News Media Registration Information —

Media representatives providing press credentials will receive a complimentary badge allowing access to all conference sessions. Press credentials will be checked at the registration help desk, where press badges will be issued. Advance registration is open through March 18, 2017. Check-in will be on Sunday, March 19, from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m., and Monday through Friday beginning at 8:00 a.m.

Register for the Conference

Note:  The registration form is part of the USRA Meeting Portal, and you will be prompted to log in using your existing profile or create a profile. Once logged in to the Meeting Portal, media representatives should select “Working Press” as the registration type to receive a press badge at no charge.

Press Briefings — 
Three press briefings will be held in conjunction with this year’s LPSC:

Remarkable Surface Changes on Comet 67P/Churyumov-Geramenko and What They Tell Us About Its History New
Tuesday, March 21, 9:30 a.m. CDT (10:30 a.m. EDT, GMT –5) to 
10:30 a.m. CDT (11:30 a.m. EDT, GMT –5)

The Woodlands Room


Panelists:
Dr. Mohamed Ramy El-Maarry, University of Colorado at Boulder
Dr. Maurizio Pajola, NASA Ames

This briefing will be streamed live on the LPSC Livestream page.



IODP-ICDP Expedition 364 to the Chicxulub Impact Crater

Tuesday, March 21, 12:00 noon CDT (1:00 p.m. EDT, GMT –5) to 
1:00 p.m. CDT (2:00 p.m. EDT, GMT –5)

The Woodlands Room

Panelists:  
Dr. David A. Kring, LPI, Special Session co-chair, to speak about the impact-generated hydrothermal system and implications.
Dr. Gail Christeson, University of Texas-Austin, Special Session co-chair, to speak about the porosity of shattered rock in the peak ring
Prof. Sonia Tikoo, Rutgers University, to speak about paleomagnetism and how it was affected by the hydrothermal system
Dr. Chris Lowery, University of Texas-Austin, to speak about recovery of life within the crater
Mr. Aurial Rae, Imperial College London, to speak about the porosity of shattered rock in the peak ring



Source Crater of an Impact-Generated Tsunami in an Early Martian Ocean
New
Thursday, March 23, 5:00 p.m. CDT (6:00 p.m. EDT, GMT –5) to
6:00 p.m. CDT (7:00 p.m. EDT, GMT –5)
The Woodlands Room

Panelists:
Francois Costard, Université Paris Sud/CNRS
Stephen Clifford, Lunar and Planetary Institute


Highlighted Events —

Media representatives are invited to make note of the Highlighted Events. Details will be added to this page as it becomes available.

There is also a Plenary Session featuring the Masursky Lecture, “Planetary Topography from Laser Altimetry,” presented by Dr. David E. Smith of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The winners of the 2016 Dwornik Awards, the 2017 LPI Career Development Awards, and the 2017 Pierazzo International Student Travel Award will also be recognized.

Special Sessions —

This year’s special sessions are:

Program and Abstracts —

The technical program and abstracts are now available.